Seto no Hanayome OVA – Jin

9 11 2008

Thoughts

As a heads up, I’ll be referring the the individual SnH OVA episodes by their disc name… in this case, Jin.

It’s been over 6 months since I finished watching Seto no Hanayome. The clear thing I remember was just how fun the show was to watch.  It was probably the hardest I’ve laughed at any show.  Yes, the show uses crude humor, but unlike more crude humor shows, this one manages to stay clean, but at the same time outrageous.

The first half of the show was essentially a throwback to the entire series.  You had all the staples of the series: Gozabura trying to kill off Nagasumi, sailor-fuku Terminator, epic battles between two factions (in this case Luna’s slaves and delinquents) while Luna and San have a sing-off, and of course… NaGARsumi’s reappearance.  I recently watched the first episode of the new Hokuto no Ken series out of curiousity, so I got the entire Tei-oh = Ra-oh reference. This segment was on-the-whole exactly what people loved about SnH put into 15 mins.

The second half had a bit more of a story and introduced a new character, Sarutobi’s sister, Satori.  This segment was epic, and I couldn’t help but appreciate it.  Satori ended up being quite the interesting character with her tomboyish charm mixed with a young girl’s personality.  And, surprise surprise, there was actual development in Nagasumi and San’s relationship.  I liked the parody of Die Hard and Bruce Willis.

Overall, it was really good to have a new episode of Seto no Hanayome and that probably affected how much I liked this OVA.  I did notice some similarities to GONZOxAIC’s newer series, Special A, that I didn’t notice before.  

RATING: 8/10

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

