Best Anime of 2008 – The Nominees

9 01 2009

So unfortunately, my winter break ended up being more occupied then I would’ve liked it. As such a lot of my initial plans for the blog got scrapped. Included in this were a good 5-6 nominee listing for these awards. I’ll still include them on them final post, but I won’t be able to put polls up.

As for best anime of 2008, I tried to think of the 5 top animes that I could put relatively on the same level, and have no throw ups… but I could only think of 4. But hey, it’s my blog =P

So here we are… IN MY OPINION, the top 4 anime of 2008.

 

Macross Frontier

Macross Frontier had everything I loved in a sci-fi mecha anime combined with a stunning soundtrack. The entire anime felt more like a grand space epic that you’d see in blockbuster movie rather then an animated TV series. And thankfully (at least in my opinion), the story wasn’t skimped on. Add a grand storyline about romance, action, and survival to everything I’ve said before and the result is one of the most beautiful animes in recent history

 

Soul Eater

To call Soul Eater visually innovative is an understatement. Just take one look at the laughing sun and you’d know what I’m talking about. Early on, Soul Eater felt like something Tim Burton would do if he did anime. Okay, so what? A fun, kickass show is good and all, but it can only go so far. This is where Soul Eater excels where other shounen action series failed. There is a strong emphasis on characters that are, for the most part, very likable. If you haven’t seen this series yet, I HIGHLY recommend you to check it out.

 

ef – a tale of melodies

I’ve ONLY talked about this series for 12 episodes and a finale review. So if you haven’t read everything I’ve said so far, here is a quick summary. ef – melodies gave a lot of background to characters that we had been introduced to in ef – memories. A very well made drama that puts more emphasis on character emotions then the standard visual novel adaptation.

 

Toradora!

I’m sure some of you have heard the term “Toradorable”, and that saying couldn’t be more accurate of this anime. Toradora is one of the best slice-of-life animes that I’ve ever seen. I keep saying this, but the characters feel incredibly genuine. And the story isn’t completely comedy, nor is it complete drama. It’s a perfect blend between the two, something very reminiscent of high school life.

Happy voting =D

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 01 2009
Kairu Ishimaru

No Kannagi? Ill just vote for Toradora..

9 01 2009
tekky99

I haven’t gotten around to writing the review, but Kannagi is nowhere NEAR one of my favorites of the year, sorry

30 11 2009
Anime

toradora is great! go palmtop tiger!

Leave a Reply

