Clannad ~After Story~ – Episode 17

8 02 2009

So I’m not breaking any new ground by saying this… but DAMN Ushio is really cute.  I couldn’t help but let out an “Aww” in the scene that she was eating.  (I nearly woke up my roommate -_-;;;) As for Tomoya… well at least they didn’t spend 2-3 episodes of him wallowing in self-pity.

In truth, I was expecting Tomoya to get very upset when he saw Ushio, to the point where he’d yell at her even though she did nothing.  Thankfully, this was not the case.  Tomoya acknowledges Ushio, but seeing her leaves him feeling very conflicted.  As MANY people have mentioned, Tomoya’s and Ushio’s relationship mirrors Tomoya’s relationship with his father… only that Ushio is too young to realize that Tomoya is acting indifferent around her.

All in all, Tomoya is trying to be a father for Ushio, but isn’t putting enough effort into being a good father.  Also, something to note: not once did Ushio ever call Tomoya, “oto-san” (father).

Quick Ushio Character Analysis:
– Got her appearance and charm from Nagisa
– Adopted Tomoya’s “say-it-as-it-is” attitude (can see this from the dinner scene when she outright rejects Tomoya’s fried rice)

RATING: 8/10

_tekky99

(I just completed Misae’s path in the Clannad game, so I might have a post about that sometime soon)

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 02 2009
flm

Where you found the game? I would like to play it too, but my japanese sux!!

9 02 2009
tekky99

I got the game and an incomplete translation patch from a friend.

Leave a Reply

