New Menma is new.

1 03 2009

Anime has left me in despair!

Anime has left me in despair!

 

Hi!  I’m Menma, and Tekky invited me to take a shot at reviewing here when he heard about my powers of endless bitching  (is that how it happened? I can’t remember so I took a guess).  I’ll be writing about shoujo manga and anime, with which I have a most complicated relationship.  I love a good romance, but 99% of the shoujo genre is horrifically bizarre sexist soap opera bullshit.  I just can’t quite give up looking for a shoujo series that doesn’t suck, and I give most stuff a fair chance, but wouldn’t you know, it still pretty much all sucks.  Luckily for me, I can still derive an enormous amount of satisfaction from complaining about and/or mocking it!  Those things are a large part of what I will be doing here.  And swearing a lot.  If that turns you off, be assured that relentless mockery and profanity aren’t all that you’ll be hearing from me.  Despite what the above picture might imply, my perspective is more like that of Kafka Fuura than Zetsubou-sensei – hope springs eternal, and I believe in highlighting the well-done and the enjoyable right alongside the ridiculous, even in the shittiest of shitty shows.

Some favorite series of mine (among ones I really do think are good) are Juuni Kokuki, Azumanga Daioh, Hikaru no Go, Death Note, Cowboy Bebop, Emma, Airmaster, Jungle wa Itsumo Hale Nochi Guu, Hunter x Hunter, and Princess Tutu.  I’m a linguistics major at UCLA, and my hobbies include music, sci-fi and fantasy, go, making terrible photoshops, cooking, and rolling you up into a star.  I’m looking forward to being part of the team!

–Menma

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

