Winter Finales: Munto TV

28 03 2009

Sora wo Miageru Shoujo no Hitomi ni Utsuru Sekai (aka Munto TV) had a lot of things going for it.  A stellar soundtrack, some of the best visuals I’ve seen from a TV series, and a reputable studio behind it.  Unfortunately everything else sorta fell apart.  There was a potential for this anime to have a great emotional story, but it probably was impossible to execute due to the show length.  A part of me wants to believe that this show got axed halfway through production, because then I could understand what went wrong.  But for now, the story was nonsensical and tended to contradict itself.

But again, as I mentioned before, there really was a lot going for this show.  The soundtrack really gave this grand, epic feel to this anime and I almost felt like I was watching a movie to be honest.  The visuals and high production quality seemed to back this up.  I mentioned this back in episode 8, watching Munto really made me feel like I was watching a Disney movie.  In fact, the only other anime I watched that had such memorable music and visuals was Eureka Seven, and I honestly feel that Munto was really similar in that sense, just lacking the story and characters to back up the visuals.

In the end, Sora wo Miageru Shoujo no Hitomi ni Utsuru Sekai is an anime that didn’t end up embracing its full potential.

FINAL RATING: 7/10

_tekky99

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 03 2009
Minnie

I 100% agree with this rating and review of Munto, tecky. This anime had a LOT of potential that I felt went to waste. Sigh. I’m so glad that I wasn’t the only one that felt this anime was lacking…

Anyways, HSA finally moved. 😄 We’ve been taken by our host master. I’ll be sure to add this awesome blog to our new blog roll. ^^ Hope to see more thoughts from the team here~

28 03 2009
tekky99

Minnie:
new site looks awesome. Yeah I’m looking for a new hosting server for this blog, but I figured that we should wait until we get more readers before we make another move.
looking forward to reading your guys’ reviews on the spring animes
oh btw, it’s “tekky” not “tecky” =P

28 03 2009
Minnie

Fast typing is bad for you. Sorry tekky~ If you’re ever looking for a hosting server in the future, be sure to ask 7 for info. 🙂

30 03 2009
nogizaka

I need to watch this >.<

Leave a Reply

