Spring 2009 Anime Season Preview

30 03 2009

Another season, another batch of shows. Same format continues from the old blog. Info on producer, genre(s), plot summary, and any other info that you might want to know. Tier format remains (1 = dying to watch…. 5 = would die if I watched) Only difference is, instead of asking outsiders to be the guest writers, we have all the writers we need here. Also, since everyone else also has the chance of blogging a series (Menma and eNamorD are both garunteed to blog at least one show each), they’ll also include the Tier/Blogging Percentage in their thoughts.

That being said, here we go =D

07-Ghost

Genres: Action, Fantasy, Military
Studio: Studio DEEN
Summary: Barsburg Empire’s Military Academy has always been known for training the elite with potential to become superb soldiers who won’t bring shame to the name of the empire. The students of the special program freely utilize an ability called “zaiphon” to fight… Everyone’s capabilities are different, and in many cases, reflect their nature. However, not everything is what it seems, and nothing will be the same for Teito Klein after passing the last exam… [MAL]

tekky99: I see bishies… I see an okay storyline… I see myself checking out a few episodes and then forgetting about this show
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 20%

shiki: Unlike my friend tekky99, I’ve been actively reading the manga for this series (a series I’m behind in blogging) and I think there is definitely some great potential in the action scenes and storylines, assuming of course, adaptation decay isn’t too bad. However, I really hope this series will be at least on the level of the manga or I’ll be disappointed in it just like I was disappointed in Kurokami.

TIER:2     Blogging Chance: 30%(dependent on initial episodes)

eNamorD: Somehow, these “zaiphon” powers are reminding me of Code Geass. In fact, the bishie art style is also reminiscent of Code Geass. Though this doesn’t seem to be a mecha, I’ve always wished Code Geass emphasized the various Geass powers a little more, so maybe this anime will satisfy that wish. But in the end, I don’t really expect it to.

TIER: 3     Blogging chance: 20%

Asura Cryin’

Genres: Action, School
Studio: Seven Arcs
Summary: The semi-serious school action story revolves around Tomoharu Natsume, a boy who has been haunted by a ghosty girl who was a childhood friend. Mikumo and ASCII MediaWorks will publish the 11th volume of the light novel series on Friday. Mikumo wrote a novel based on Takashi Shiina’s Zettai Karen Children manga, which was also adapted into anime. [MAL]

tekky99: There really hasn’t been much more info given out about this anime besides the promo pic and the synopsis above.  Even with the lack of info, I’m still somewhat interested in the story.  Perhaps it’s the artwork… The website artwork seems to indicate this being a mecha anime o_O
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 65%

shiki: Hmm, school anime doesn’t really appeal to me but there is an interesting premise. I may watch it, probably,possibly. Nice art though.
TIER: 5    Blogging Chance:0%

eNamorD: A school action story? Well, if it’s a mecha, I can see where the action comes in. But then what about the ghosty childhood friend? The premise doesn’t really draw me in, so it all really depends on how well set-up the world is.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 30%

Basquash!

Genres: Mecha, Sports, Sci-fi
Studio: Satelite
Summary: On the planet Earthdash, its inhabitants gaze on its moon and the technologically advanced lunar city of Mooneyes with awe. Dan JD, a boy living in Rollingtown on Earthdash’s surface, gets caught up in Bigfoot Basketball — a fast-paced sport played with giant Bigfoot robots. [AnimeDB]

tekky99: Definetly one of the more unique ideas I’ve seen.  The integrated CG might be a turn off to some people.  But the trailer seems to indicate this show being quite fun… if not ridiculous
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 40%

shiki: Normally not something I’d get into, but having played Star Ocean for the last week and watching Eyeshield 21, futuristic + sports calls to me to at least watch the first episode.
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance:0%

eNamorD: Well, this does seem pretty innovative. But I’ve never been much for sports animes with themes about teamwork and friendship. We’ll have to see if that’s one of those sports animes.
TIER: 4     Blogging Chance:15%

Menma: This looks kind of cool!  I was interested because it sounded so ridiculous, but the trailer actually impressed me a little.  I mean, the idea is still ridiculous, but…
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 25%

Cross Game

Genres: Sports, Romance, Drama
Studio: Synergy SP
Summary: The main character is Kou Kitamura, son of the owner of Kitamura Sports. In the same neighborhood is a batting center run by the Tsukishima family. Due to their proximity and the relationship between their businesses, the Kitamura and Tsukishima familes have been close for many years, with their children going back and forth between the two homes like extended family.[1] Because Kou and Wakaba were the same age and always together, Aoba was jealous of all the time Kou spent with her older sister. Aoba is a natural pitcher with excellent form, and Kō secretly trains to become as good as she was, even while publicly showing little interest in baseball. [MAL Manga Info]

Reasons to Watch: The original mangaka has worked on other well known sports titles such as H2 and Touch.

tekky99: I never was a big fan of sports anime.  This doesn’t look like it’s something that’ll be keeping my interest.  I’ll tell my sports friends about this, but I think I’ll pass
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 15%

shiki: I don’t mind watching sports because I was a pretty big fan of series like Prince of Tennis and Slam Dunk, but, adding the romance part just feels like it’ll be a romance anime with a sports background with the appropriate dramatic situations that will arise.
TIER: 5    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Yeah, not a sports anime fan. Also, the art doesn’t appeal to me that much. But oh look!  A kitty!
TIER: 4     Blogging Chance: 15%

Eden of the East

Genres: Sci-Fi
Studio: Production I.G.
Summary: On November 22, 2010 ten missiles strike Japan. However, this unprecedented terrorist act, later to be called as “Careless Monday,” does not result in any apparent victims, and is soon forgotten by almost everyone. Then, 3 months later… Saki Morimi is a young woman currently in the United States of America on her graduation trip. But just when she is in front of the White House, Washington DC, she gets into trouble, and only the unexpected intervention of one of her fellow countrymen saves her. However, this man, who introduces himself as Akira Takizawa, is a complete mystery. He appears to have lost his memory. and he is stark naked, except for the gun he holds in one hand, and the mobile phone he’s holding with the other hand. A phone that is charged with 8,200,000,000 yen in digital cash. [ANN]

Reasons to Watch: The director, Kamiyama Kenji, previously worked on the Ghost in the Shell series. The character designer, Umino Chika, is more well known for her popular shoujo manga (and subsequent anime adaptations), Honey and Clover. Lastly, the opening song, “Falling Down”, is produced by the english rock band, Oasis.

tekky99: Now here is a series that got my curiosity the moment I heard it’s synopsis.  I have no doubt that the series is gonna have a good story and probably some really great characters.  But the thing that got me REALLY excited was hearing that Oasis is gonna be the opening artist.  They are my favorite band, and so hearing their song in an anime is gonna be fangasmic
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 85%

shiki: Definitely sounds very intriguing. It helps that the title makes me wonder as to what its significance  might be to the mystery surrounding that man. I’m adding this to my to-watch list because it seems like something I will not likely drop.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Oh my, I do like mysterious happenings and titles which imply the coming of an apocalypse.
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 60%

Menma: NAKED MEN.
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 30%

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

Genres: Shounen, Action, Drama, Comedy
Studio: BONES
Summary: After losing their mother, Alphonse and Edward Elric attempt to bring her back using the forbidden science of human alchemy. However, alchemy operates on the theory of equivalent trade, and breaking the human alchemy taboo carries a heavy price. Ed loses his leg, and Al loses his body. Ed is able to seal Al’s soul inside of a huge suit of armor, at the cost of his arm. Years later, Ed (now with two mechanical limbs) and Al (still trapped in the armor) leave their childhood home, each brother concerned with the other’s happiness. Ed, who has a natural talent and skill for alchemy, becomes nationally certified and is soon known everywhere as the “Fullmetal Alchemist.” Their true objective is to search for any information on the fabled Philosopher’s Stone, hoping it will allow them to regain their old bodies. All of their hopes rest with this mythical stone, which may not even exist at all. However, the brothers soon learn that they are not the only ones after the powerful stone. [ANN]

Reasons to Watch: Reboot of the wildly popular 2003 anime series. Rumors suggest that this adaptation will follow the manga more closely.

tekky99: News of the production of the new FMA was a major surprise to a LOT of people.  After the initial excitement died down, it soon became apparent that the series would probably be a reboot.  Manga fans rejoiced, while hardcore anime fans were upset.  I honestly LOVED the anime ending, and would’ve loved to see this show remain untouched.  However, I haven’t read the manga, so I’m gonna stay open minded.  Just note though, I am NOT going to be blogging this show.  Plenty of other, more in-depth bloggers, will be covering this.  I want to cover stuff the lesser known series.
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 0%

shiki: Speaking as a manga fan, I am VERY excited about this especially if they’re redoing the original anime. While I enjoyed the anime series the first time around and it had wonderful music, the manga’s depth was much greater than the anime. There were also certain characters I would have enjoyed seeing in the anime that were not even mentioned at all. Most of all….its FMA, a great piece of work that I love in any form.
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: I, being the not-so-hardcore anime fan, have not even touched any of the Fullmetal Alchemist series as of yet. Still, this is a title which people know and love (or at least most people love it) and so definitely worth checking out.
TIER: 2      Blogging Chance: 0%

Gokujou Mecha Mote Iinchou

Genres: Comedy, Romance, School, Shoujo
Studio: Unknown
Summary: The February issue of Shogakukan’s Ciao magazine, which will ship on Monday but was previewed early on Japanese television, will announce that Tomoko Nishimura’s Gokujō!! Mecha Mote Iinchō (The Best!! Extremely Cool Student Council President) shōjo manga has been green-lit for an anime adaptation. In the story, Mimi Kitagami is a kind, level-headed girl who aims to be the best, coolest student council president of her high school class. However, three trouble-making boys are always causing her grief — and she has a one-sided crush on one of the boys, Ushio Tōjō. [MAL]

tekky99: The amount of pink in that promo pic is blinding me X_X… This looks like one of those shoujo mangas I tried to pick up… except that it looked like every other shoujo manga out there.  Don’t think I’ll be keeping up w/ this.  (That hamster scares me…)
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 20%

shiki: Guhhhh…to much pink, and shoujo sugariness and IS THAT HAMTARO?!?! And I think I’ve seen this plot before,…once..twice…thrice so I’ll pass. I’ll probably give the manga a try when midterms roll around.
TIER:5     Blogging Chance:0%

eNamorD: I haven’t seen enough shoujo storylines to know exactly how shoujo this is…but BOY it seems shoujo. Also, I know I’ve seen the hair on the blond guy several times before..
TIER: 5     Blogging Chance: 0%

Menma: TEKKY!  Why did you make me watch the trailer?!  Now I have to watch the rest.  PAIN QUOTA MUST BE REACHED.  Squirrels.  And Hamtaro.  HELP.
TIER: 5     Blogging Chance: 60%

Guin Saga

Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Studio: Satelite
Summary: Somewhere in the Middle Country,there roams Guin,a mysterious warrior who is revered by the people. Wearing a leopard’s mask,he has lost all the memories he held except his combat instincts and the word “Aurra”. When the people of the Middle Country is attacked by demonic creatures,it is up to Guin to save them.[ANN]

tekky99: Wow, this reminds me of those old epics from lit class that always bored me to death.  I’ll recommend this to a friend of mine, but I’ll probably leave it at that.
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 5%

shiki: @_@ It’s so pretty! And historical-y! And its fantasy! They took my favorite video game genres and rolled it into a ball.  Having just read over 300 chapters of Bersek, I’m in the mood for a slightly lighter and much less GAR anime of a similar type.
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 20%

eNamorD: How much I like this anime will probably depend solely on how good the soundtrack is (I’m expecting something Medieval-ish) and how epic the fight scenes are. The art is tolerable, though doesn’t quite match my taste and I’m expecting the plot to be good.
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 45%

Hanasakeru Seishounen

Genres: Drama, Romance, Shoujo
Studio: Studio Pierrot
Summary: A very powerful industrialist directs his daughter to pick a husband from three candidates he has chosen for her. They are to come into her life, and their uniqueness would cause her to recognize them immediately. All three of the candidates are outstanding. Well, it’s actually four…

The story evolves along the lines of a power political mystery involving a small middle eastern country. [MAL]

tekky99: That IS a girl in the middle, right?  Cause I can’t tell the difference between the two.  I’m DEFINITELY gonna tell my bishie-loving friends about this, while I will be steering way clear.
TIER: 5    Blogging Chance: 0%

shiki: Love the art, hate the summary. It’s something I’d like in poster or wallpaper form but probably not something I want to watch. But I reeeeeeeeaaallyyyyyy love the art.
TIER: 4.5  Blogging Chance: 0%

Menma: I cannot love the title of this show any more than I already do.  It is just not possible.  FLOWERBLOOMING MANBOYZ  And what, there’s political intrigue?!  Please don’t tell me they want me to take this seriously.  I might cry.
Tier: ?!  Blogging Chance: 3000%

eNamorD: And this will depend entirely on the balance between plot and shiny, sparkling pretty boys. In my mind, the less sparkling we have, the more likely I will watch it. Otherwise, I’ll leave this series up to Menma.
TIER: 4     Blogging Chance: 3.14%

Hatsukoi Limited

Genres: Comedy, Romance, Ecchi, School
Studio: J.C. Staff
Summary: Middle-schooler Arihara Ayumi receives a love letter from a high-schooler, a very large and intimidating boy, Zaitsu Misao, asking her out. He begins to follow her around and then one day she is kidnapped by rivals of Misao and it then turns out that Ayumi may infact be stronger than Misao himself.[ANN]

Reasons to Watch: The original mangaka of this series is the same as the one behind Ichigo 100%.

tekky99: Ichigo 100% was one of those manga i planned to read, but never got around to.  It felt like a more childish version of Suzuka.  However, from what I hear, Hatsukoi Limited is a more mature romance manga (mature as in realistic).  I’ll definitely watch the first few episodes to see if I like.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 70%

shiki: Heeeee, sounds like a manga I would have liked to read. Not so sure about anime but I’m willing to give it a shot. I enjoyed Ichigo 100% so I’ll see if I like this one as well. The art’s a nice incentive too.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: This seems like a good premise for a comedy show. Now if I could only see a picture of the main male character to judge how comedic it could be. (And I’m just going to ignore the whole “high-schooler stalking a middle-school girl” thing.)
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 70%

Menma: I’d rather play a H-game.  At least you can skip the dialogue in those.  God, I’m so sick of dating sim setups where you get to choose from a frillion flavors of totally legal high school girl.  It’s like Baskin Robbins, except no matter what kind of ice cream you choose, all of it is tasteless.  DOUBLE MEANING   Seriously, I half expect Misao’s face to be censored out whenever he appears.
TIER: 5   Blogging Chance: 0%

Hayate no Gotoku!!

Genres: Comedy, Parody, Action, Romance
Studio: J.C. Staff
Summary: Continuation of the Hayate no Gotoku series.

tekky99: I made the mistake of trying to watch the first series when my anime background was still rather sketchy.  Now, I should be able to get MANY more references and in-jokes.  I high doubt I’ll be blogging this as it’s bound to be 50+ episodes again. Not to mention, I don’t think I could really say much about each episode
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 0%

shiki: This series was something I liked to watch on and off, great comedy and inside jokes were funny if they were caught. This season will probably be along the same lines.
TIER:3     Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Yes yes yes, I will be watching this! Sure, the episodes in the first series were always hit-or-miss with me. But when they hit, I would not just roll on the floor laughing, I would roll over the walls and ceilings too.
TIER: 1     Blogging Chance: 0%

K-ON!

Genres: Slice-of-life, Music, Comedy
Studio: Kyoto Animation
Summary: A story of 4 high school girls who are trying to save the light music club. [MAL]

Reasons to Watch: The team that worked on Lucky Star will be working on this as well.

tekky99: I liked Lucky Star. Not because it was “moe”, but rather because it was actually funny and had good characters.  So that’s one reason I’ll be checking out this show.  The more important reason is that I love music animes, and KyoAni already knows how to integrate great music into its shows… as such I expect wonders in that department.  There’s actually a fair chance that I’ll blog this show.  I’ve so far, unintentionally, covered all of KyoAni’s TV shows since the creation of this blog.  I’m thinking, why stop now?  Also, I want to try my hand at blogging a comedy
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 85%

shiki: Uhh I liked Lucky Star, but saving a music club’s a bit much for me.
TIER:5     Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: What exactly is light music anyway? In any case, I really do like music and music-themed shows, so this should be interesting.
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 50%

Menma: I’m pretty sure the main character was dropped on her head as a baby and then left in a newly-painted room for several days.  That being said, it is cute enough that I would not complain if I were forced to watch this.
TIER: 3      Blogging Chance: 10%

Natsu no Arashi

Genres: Comedy, Fantasy, Romance
Studio: SHAFT
Summary: In an old town coffee shop, a boy met an older high school girl. From there, everything was… An unforgettable summer began. [MAL]

Reasons to Watch: The manga Natsu no Arashi was written by Kobayashi Jin, better known as the mangaka of School Rumble.

tekky99: Say what you want, the entire point of School Rumble was that nothing happens, and I was fine with that.  I haven’t read Natsu no Arashi, and I haven’t heard the most favorable reviews for it.  Perhaps it’ll fare better when it gets SHAFTed.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 75%

shiki: Felt a little boring when reading it but I’ll give episode one a try.
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Err…what’s up with the art? The synopsis is going to have to give me more than that to keep me interested, but I will give it a try. Nothing turns me on but nothing turns me off.
TIER: 3     Blogging Chance: 35%

Pandora Hearts

Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Supernatural
Studio: XEBEC
Summary: Oz Bezarius, heir to one of the duke houses, has just turned fifteen. His life is rich and carefree, darkened only by the constant absence of his father. At his coming-of-age ceremony, however, everything changes. For no reason that he can discern, he’s cast into the prison known as the “Abyss”, only to be saved by a “chain” known as Alice, the bloodstained black rabbit. Why was he cast into Abyss, how does Alice factor into it all, and what does the organization known as “Pandora” want with him…? [MAL]

tekky99: I don’t know much about this series, but apparently, it’s popular.  It looks somewhat interesting.  Character designs are nice, the studio is decent.  I’ll probably check out the first few episodes, but I doubt I’ll blog this.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 35%

shiki: *SQUEE!* LOVE the manga and the art is beautiful. I’m a sucker for dark Alice in Wonderland stories no matter how twisted or faintly related so I am definitely watching this.
TIER: 1     Blogging Chance: 30%

eNamorD: Ah yes, this will hopefully prove to be a dark series…I find I like those kinds a lot. If the world in this story is sufficiently fleshed out, there’s a good chance I’ll be blogging this.
TIER: 1     Blogging Chance: 85%

Phantom ~Reqiuem for the Phantom~

Genres: Action, Drama
Studio: Bee Train
Summary: A spate of mafia assassinations occurs in America, the work of the mysterious organization named Inferno. “Phantom” is their most strongest and capable assassin, however a lone tourist witnesses Phantom’s latest act of murder. He unwittingly exposes the top assassin’s true identity, a young girl named Ein. Witnesses are usually killed, but the man is captured and taken to be brainwashed into “Zwei”, Inferno’s newest assassin, with no memory of who he is. From this point on, Zwei is drawn into a world of conspiracy, deceit and violence. [ANN]

tekky99: I have to mention how much I love the character designs.  I think it’s the same person who did El Cazador.  Anyway, the show looks somewhat interesting.  The trailer indicates a high production value.  And if I’m correct, Kokia is doing the opening track.  Again, I’ll check out a few episodes and see from there.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 45%

shiki: Although not that closely related, the summary somehow makes me think of NOIR and this one episode in GetBackers with an amnesiac assassin(I think?). Anyway, although I’m not a huge fan of Bee Train, the synopsis sounds interesting and the art looks pretty good so I’ll give it a try.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Seems like a lot potential for this anime. Definitely going to watch this, but not sure on whether I’ll blog it or not.
TIER: 1     Blogging Chance: 55%

Queens Blade

Genres: Action, Adventure, Ecchi, Fantasy
Studio: ARMS
Summary: A competition to decide the next Queen. The strongest warrior will rule the country and expand it. The contestants need to be older than 12. They need not be human, intelligent or even of that country. The rules for the tournament: murder is allowed. Any weapon can be chosen. [MAL]

tekky99: To clarify something for everyone… ARMS is actually a hentai anime producer most of the time.  This probably means two things.  For those of you looking for uncensored fanservice… this is probably your best bet.  However, for those of us who’d rather avoid seeing some “boing”, steer clear.
TIER: 5    Blogging Chance: 0%

shiki: It’s like watching Angelique go hentai and on crack. But I liked Angelique so I’ll probably check out the first episode…when I’m not near my family.
TIER:4     Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: “Need not be human”??? What, do some of them have tentacles or something?
TIER: 3     Blogging Chance: 10% (just for the lulz)

Ristorante Paradiso

Genres: Drama, Slice-of-life
Studio: David Production
Summary: 21 year-old Nicoletta leaves her grandparents’ home in the countryside to work in Rome at a restaurant owned by her estranged mother’s lover. But something sets the popular and elegant Casetta Dell’orso apart from its rivals: the entire restaurant is staffed by older gentlemen wearing glasses (as per her mother’s preference). Thrown into this adult world, Nicoletta must try to find personal and professional stability – things that become increasingly difficult to achieve as she falls under the spell of Casetta Dell’orso. [MAL]

tekky99: This looks like one of those series you could just sit back, relax, and enjoy.  Something you don’t plan to watch.  A pure slice-of-life show, similar to Aria.  As such, I probably won’t be “planning” to watch it.  Rather, I might pick up an episode when I feel like doing nothing.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 10%

shiki: Somehow the atmosphere feels like the one in Haibane Renmei. I think I’ll watch this whenever I’m in the mood for something calmer and steady.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: This does not interest me much. I will give it a try though.
TIER: 4     Blogging Chance: 0%

Menma: ……how did they know my secret old-man-wearing-glasses fetish?!
TIER: 1     Blogging Chance: 50%

Saki

Genres: Mahjong, School, Comedy
Studio: GONZO
Summary: Miyanaga Saki is a very skilled mahjong player. One day she gets dragged into the Mahjong Club and surprises some of the other members by being able to break even after every round, a play style that developed due to the fact that her family would get mad if she won whenever they played so she would carefully lose on purpose. But here’s the catch, she hates mahjong.

tekky99: This looks ridiculous… ridiculously fun that is.  The trailer only makes me think of one thing:  Yu-Gi-Oh meets Akagi.  I can tell this’ll be bad… but laughably bad so I’ll still enjoy this. =D
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 45%

shiki: I’ve been reading the manga and so far I feel like its Hikaru no Go except instead of Sai hovering around, its a Hikaru + Sai in one person and its a girl. I love it because it combines both humor and serious drama and Saki just kicks ass even though she had stated she hatesmahjong.
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 15%

eNamorD: Ahhhh….the motif of reluctant hero. I’m not sure how long you can keep a series about mahjong funny, so we’ll have to see.
TIER: 3     Blogging Chance: 30%

Menma: I laughed when I heard about this one, but…anything is possible.  I laughed when I heard about Hikaru no Go, too…  And if this turns out to be terrible, at least it will be full-on, unashamedly terrible.  I can appreciate that.  But if this series makes me start playing mahjong too, someone’s gonna get…cut.  +_+
Tier: 2       Blogging Chance: 40%

Sengoku Basara

Genres: Action, Historical
Studio: Production I.G.
Summary: In the age of the Warring Countries, Japan was fragmented in semi-independent provinces, governed by feudal lords or daimyo, who confronted each other in an endless struggle for power. Ambitious daimyos from every corner of the Archipelago had shouted their battle cry. They were Takeda Shingen from Kai, Sanada Yukimura, Uesugi Kenshin from Echigo, Azai Nagamasa from Omi, Tokugawa Ieyasu from Mikawa, and many more… Those were days of unrest and chaos. As war spread throughout the country, the map of power underwent rapid and dramatic changes. In this never-ending conflict, one man finally seemed to be just one step from establishing total control over the country. He was the lord of Owari, the Sixth Heavenly Devil King. His name was Oda Nobunaga. But now, a young general clad in azure makes his unexpected appearance in this confused scenario, heading a huge army of cavalrymen from the Northern provinces. He is known as Date Masamune, the One-Eyed Dragon. And he is coming for Oda Nobunaga’s head, and for ultimate supremacy! [MAL]

tekky99: Hey look, it’s a bunch of manly men duking it out.  I’ll pass
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 15%

shiki: Historical action! My cup of tea…well my current preferred cup of tea so I’m planning to watch this. The time period promises some nice action scenes and political intrigue.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 5%

eNamorD: Hey look, it’s a bunch of manly men duking it out. Let’s check it out.
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 20%

Shangri-la

Genres: Sci-fi
Studio: GONZO
Summary: The story takes place in the middle of the 21st century when global warming has turned Tokyo into a tropical city. To reduce the temperature at the heart of the city by 5°C (9°F), the city is being reborn as the world’s largest forest city. However, despite the flow of refugees to the new city of Atlas, there are not many residents who can actually live there. Moreover, anti-government guerillas are attempting to stop the forestation. [MAL]

Reasons to Watch: Range Murata, who does the character designs, previously worked on Last Exile.  Also, May’n of Macross Frontier (Sheryl Nome) fame will be singing the opening in her first anime collaboration outside Macross.

tekky99: I originally thought that the entire crew of Last Exile were gonna be working on this.  Oh well, I’ll still be checking this out.  Online there is a lot of hope that this won’t be a GONZO failure like we’ve been seeing lately.  GONZO or no GONZO, the story concept is interesting, and I really like Murata’s character designs
TIER: 1    Blogging Chance: 85%

shiki: I don’t know why but its just not calling to me. Looks pretty.
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Worth watching just to see Tokyo turned into a treehouse city.
TIER: 3     Blogging Chance: 20%

Shin Mazinger Shougeki! Z-Hen

Genres: Action, Mecha
Studio: Bee Media
Summary: Set in contemporary times, the battle of the Gods (extraterrestrials thought to be Gods by the ancient Greeks) continues. Hades (in mythology, the ruler of the underworld, embodied by Dr. Hell) has returned to attack the Earth and exterminate the human race, and to protect it Zeus sends a robot born from him, Z Mazinger (this is why the Z of Zeus is before the name and not after it as in Mazinger Z, where it’s not related to the Greek god). The robot is given by chance to a student called Koji Kabuto (the classic Mazinger hero) and together with Aphrodite (piloted by Sayaka) and other classic Mazinger characters such as Tetsuya he defends the planet. Many other gods are involved, and their relationships of love and envy are part of the plot.

Reasons to Watch: A new adapataion of the 70’s super robot anime series, Mazinger Z.

tekky99: Hey look, it’s a bunch of manly men in mecha duking it out.  I’ll pass
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance:  10%

shiki: I’m reminded of Saint Seiya…but no. Loved Saint Seiya, but this doesn’t look that great.
TIER: 5    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Much as I love Greek mythology, this doesn’t seem like something I’d like. No thanks.
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 0%

Shinkyouku Soukai Polyphonica Crimson S

Genres: Drama, Fantasy, School
Studio: Diomedea
Summary: The new series will again focus on Corticarte, but it will tie into Ichiro Sakaki and Noboru Kannatsuki’s Shinkyoku Sōkai Polyphonica crimson S light novel adaptation, which are set during the Academy years of the storyline. [MAL]

tekky99: I haven’t seen the first series… and I hope I don’t have to because I’m gonna watch this.  The artwork looks nice and the setting looks very interesting.  I hope I don’t end up regretting it.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 75%

shiki: Hrm…I like school anime in a fantasy setting and the art does look pretty ice. I’ll give it a try.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: The synopsis up there doesn’t describe the plot at all, but the original series seems to be about a spirit who feeds off of music played by a human. The spirit and human take odd jobs around the school. So…it’s got music. I’ll check it out, but the plot better be good.
TIER: 2     Blogging Chance: 30%

Slap Up Party -Arad Senki-

Genres: Action, Adventure, Comedy, Fantasy
Studio: GONZO
Summary: The anime will follow the adventures of Baron, a man living on continent of Arad in the year 981 after “the cursed light of Kazan” has fallen across the land. Thanks to the curse, one of his arms has become possessed. After finding a sword that has been possessed by the spirit Roxy, he embarks on a quest to unravel the secret of the curse and meets various people who also join his party. [MAL]

tekky99: Another standard RPG adaptation, doesn’t have anything that really stands out to me… I’ll skip on this
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 10%

shiki: I love rpgs…but I’ll pass.
TIER: 5    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Yeah, animes adapted from RPGs just don’t seem as good as playing the RPG itself.
TIER: 4     Blogging Chance: 0%

Souten Kouro

Genres: Action, Adventure
Studio: Madhouse Studios
Summary: No Summary Available.

tekky99: Hey look, it’s a manly man… I’ll pass
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 10%

shiki: Oooooo looks like another historical action anime that may perhaps be also fantasy.I’m also in the mood for some darker anime so this looks promising.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: Umm….no summary? I’ll wait for someone to recommend it before checking it out.
TIER: 3     Blogging Chance:0%

Tayutama -Kiss on my Deity-

Genres: Ecchi, Harem, Supernatural
Studio: Media Factory
Summary: The story centers on Yūri Mito, a student at the Sōsei Academy and the only son of the man who runs the Yachimata shrine. At Yachimata, there is a legend of a deity named Tayutayu-sama who protected the area, but this deity and other so-called “Tayutai” have been lost in time. Mito and his friends discover a relic on the school grounds with mysterious patterns on them. Then, at the opening ceremony of the new school year, an equally mysterious girl named Mashiro appears before Mito. Mashiro is somehow tied to the relic and the legend of Tayutayu-sama. [MAL]

tekky99: Remember back in the Fall 08 preview, when I had high hopes for Akane Iro ni Somaru Saka?  That show probably ended up killing all my optimism about eroge adaptations.  I don’t anticipate this being good at all.  Alas, I’ll probably watch it w/ some slim hope that it might end up different, and then get horribly crushed, and then have fun writing the finale review
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 50%

shiki: I don’t mind ecchi, but I’m not a huge fan of harem anime. Still I’m fond of the supernatural genre so I’ll check out the first couple of episodes.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: ………..…………….


………….
…….
That being said, I wonder what it would be like to have cat ears?
TIER: 3     Blogging Chance:0%

Menma: Pfffffhaahahaha~  Oh yeah baby, kiss on my deity.
TIER: 5     Blogging Chance: 0%

Tears to Tiara

Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Studio: Oriental Light and Magic
Summary: In a world resembling the middle-age. A girl, Riannon, is set to be sacrificed to appease a resurrected demon lord, Arawn. As her brother Arthur attempts to rescue her, Arawn defies those who resurrected him and frees Riannon from her captors, which leads to Riannon admiring him. This eventually leads to a party of companions being assembled for adventure, with Arawn acting as the leader. [MAL]

Reasons to Watch: The staff, production company, and original creators are all the same as the ones behind Utawarerumono.

tekky99: Another genre that has been giving me a bad taste as of late.  World Destruction was a disaster. Tales of the Abyss started off good, but got boring.  There is some hope here with Tears to Tiara as it’s the same production staff as Utawarerumono.  However, the drawback is that the setting isn’t as interesting…
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 50%

shiki: I love these settings…when I’m playing them. Otherwise it feels very generic. However, on the chance that this may be a twist in typical rpgs, I’ll try watching this.
TIER: 3    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: The art looks kinda nice though, albeit generic.
TIER: 3      Blogging Chance:0%

Menma: I sort of like the setup, although I don’t entirely understand the plot.  That’s fine!  I like demon lords.
TIER: 2      Blogging Chance: 20%

Valkyria Chronicles


Genres: Action, Adventure, Historical, Military
Studio: A-1 Pictures
Summary: Valkyria Chronicles is set in a fictitious continent reminiscent of 1930s Europe – divided in two and ruled by the Empire and the Federation. The Empire has set its sights on invading a small neutral country called Gallia, which is situated in the middle of the two great empires. The story follows a hero named Welkin and his fellow soldiers of the Federation’s 7th Platoon as they engage in a series of epic battles. [MAL]

Reasons to Watch: Based off an SRPG by Sega, recently released in the States.

tekky99: This is an RPG adaptation that I’d rather give a chance to.  The setting is much more unique, and stands out in my mind.  Also, the characters look to be very interesting.  A-1 pictures is behind this, so there is a chance for very high production value.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 70%

shiki: The game was really good and I love the characters so I want to give this a try. *crosses fingers and hopes it doesn’t get butchered like  most other rpg adaptations…Tales of Symphonia I’m looking at you*
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 0%

eNamorD: I’ve been playing a few war-games lately, so maybe I’ll give this a try.
TIER: 2    Blogging Chance: 0%

Menma: Meh.
TIER: 4    Blogging Chance: 0%


FINAL THOUGHTS

tekky99: In all truth, the Spring anime season is looking really bleak.  I’ve only shown absolute interest in 3 brand new shows (Hayate and FMA are sequels and reboots).  On one hand, I probably won’t have as many anime to watch weekly, which means I can spend more time studying =/.  The one wildcard right now, that I didn’t include in this preview, is the Haruhi re-broadcast.  I have a gut feeling that this is actually the second season disguised, and that Kadokawa is gonna pull a double troll.  Well, if that happens, that’ll be a show that has a 100% chance of me blogging.  We’ll seeee…. *sigh* it’s odd, the summer season is 3 months away, no where near to having it’s show list finalized… and it’s already looking soo much more appealing then this spring…

shiki: I differ from tekky99 in that there are quite a few series that I am looking forward to such as Pandora Hearts and 07-Ghost but I have high expectations for these due to the excellence of the mangas. I’m also looking forward to Saki since I’ve enjoyed the manga so far and FMA is my long awaited series that will hopefully actually be more true to the manga. As a history lover I am happy to see this season will include several anime that takes place in a historical setting. Unfortunately these high hopes mean I will crash that much harder if they dont live up to expectations. On the plus side…I should be actually focusing on my classes so if my hopes are shattered I can shun anime for a season or two and work on my grades.

eNamorD: Why is everyone so concerned about grades? =P As usual, I will have no idea whether a series is good or not until I actually watch it. Nothing really sticks out in my mind as must-watch though, despite the fact that I gave out a few tier ones. I’m just going to hold back and figure out what’s good.

Menma: I think there are some shows coming out this spring that I will enjoy.  Every once in awhile, a show I actually end up really loving comes along, which is always an unexpected delight…I don’t anticipate any of these being that special, but who knows?  I’ve got enough manga on my plate anyway…

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 03 2009
Minnie

Awesome group post guys. 😄 If you guys blog Hatsukoi, I’ll definitely come back and check up on the posts. I’m the main blogger for that one and 3 other shows myself. Keep up the good work!

Souten Kouro is about Cao Cao and thanks to Cao Cao being voiced by Mamoru, 3+ more of Hey, Say, Anime are more than willing to blog it. 😄 Are we a pack of Mamoru fangirls or what? Give it a try at least guys~ ^_^

30 03 2009
tekky99

Minnie:
If I’m able to work out a reasonable work schedule this quarter, I might be attempt to blog 4 shows (including Regios). Based off of pre-season hype, I’m really leaning towards Eden of the East and K-ON as shows to blog. But both are gonna be 11-13 episodes, I’d like to cover one 26 ep series, so Hatsukoi Limited might be the show for that =D. Anyway, nothing is guaranteed, so the first episodes will decide what I blog… T_T gotta catch up on Regios….

31 03 2009
Minnie

Yeah. It can be tough. I blog a lot and manage to keep my grades up somehow. But I know the rest of my group can’t do the same.

For me, I put anime on my blogging list and if they don’t work out, I either drop out or drop the anime in all (if no one else wants to drop it). That’s just how our system works. 😄 But yeah, it will take a couple of first episodes to see first. ^^

31 03 2009
Minnie

*if no one else wants to blog it

Oops. 😛

2 04 2009
Patches

You know, with Toradora! and Soul Eater ending, I THOUGHT I was going to get my life back, but NOOOOO. That wasn’t in the cards.

Given how tight my schedule is, I’m hoping you all will do an excellent job of weeding for us readers.

Leave a Reply

