Phantom: Requiem for the Phantom – Episode 02

12 04 2009

[Again, I haven’t confirmed that I’m gonna blog this series… this episode review is just in case I choose to, so that I don’t fall behind.] So Phantom was one of the biggest surprises to me last week, probably because my expectations were low.  Nonetheless, it grabbed my attention as potential winner.  Episode 2 wasn’t quite as intriguing but that’s not its job.  With the hooker (episode 1) done, it’s time for the story to start building up.

So now I see why people complain about Bee Train so much.  The episodes pace was slow… VERY slow.  For someone who’s used to high flying dialogue and action, this can end up as a major disappointment.  I honestly don’t mind it.  Sure, it’s something that I have to watch when I’m not tired, but the slow storytelling has one major bonus… the finale can be incredibly gratifying.  

But if that was just the case, then I’d be watching almost every darn show w/ a slow storyline.  There has to be something else to keep me coming back for more.  In Phantom, that draw is the relationship between Ein and Zwei.  We haven’t been given any backstory about their characters, yet already, their interactions feel haunting.  There’s just something tragic about seeing a person loose all connections with his feelings… and then more so, when two of these people try to interact.

Yes, I have a pretty good idea of where the story is gonna go, but I think I’ve made it clear at this point that predictability is not one of my major criteria against the strength of an anime.  Soundtrack was as good as ever, no sudden drops in production quality.  It’s just a matter of time before we start to see Zwei in action.

RATING: 8.5/10

_tekky99

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

