I am utterly and hopelessly addicted to Cardcaptor Sakura

1 05 2009

Four Reasons Why I Love CCS

So if you guys didn’t know, I’m in charge of picking the shows at UCLA’s anime club.  This week we had a special screening in which all the shows we watched were from before 2000 (or remakes of shows from before 2000).  We had a lot of fun stuff: Ashita no Joe, Digimon Adventure.  I decided to put in one older shoujo show for kicks, and I chose Cardcaptor Sakura.  Of all the people who could’ve gotten hooked off the first episode… I never predicted that I’d be one of them.

I actually have a history with CCS, one that extends before I got into anime.  Right around 99 to 01, there was a small kids anime renaissance taking place here in the states.  A lot of animes were broadcast on saturday morning cartoon blocks.  These shows included: Monster Rancher, Yu-Gi-Oh!, Medabots, Astro Boy (2001), etc.  Almost as a foreshadow to my eventual love of anime, I used to watch as many as I could handle.  Of course, this could be explained to my outright love of Digimon and Pokemon but I digress.  

1) Great Costumes

One of the shows that found its way onto the Kids WB block, was a little show called Cardcaptors.  Being the kid I was, of course I watched it.  I immediately took a liking to it since it was so different from anything else I had seen.  There was just something cool about it.  I was even more surprised that not many people were watching it.  The people who I recommended it to all got hooked.  But anyway, the show eventually ended, and it faded from my mind… for 8 years

A quick relevant detour.  I might be flamed for this, but the Cardcaptors dub is by no mean bad.  As an original series it actually quite entertaining and perfectly catered to the intended audience, and THEN some.  However, as an accurate adaptation… it failed as hard as anything could possibly fail.  CCS is a pure shoujo magical girl anime.  Cardcaptors is shounen action series with just enough in there to interest the female audience.  While completely unwarranted, this change is understandable.  In America, only boys watch saturday morning cartoons.  Putting a show aimed at girls into the lineup aimed at boys would essentially be suicide for that show.  But during the time there was a lot of pressure to put out the “next big thing”.  Okay, simple fix… re-dub the show and heavily edit it so that guys will like it.  It worked.  Never once when I watched Cardcaptors did I ever realize that I was watching a magical girl show.  It had to have done something right, cause whenever I think back to then, I remember how much I was waiting for a show that WASN’T Digimon or Pokemon.

2) Cute Characters

Anyway, fast-forward to last year; when I got into anime.  Around this time, I finally remembered about Cardcaptors, and I figured it’d be a great time to watch it.  So I wiki-ed the show (something I did before I started any series).  That is how I discovered the difference between Cardcaptor Sakura and Cardcaptors.  Being the ignorant fool I was, I lost interest since it was so drastically different from what I remember. 

Until now.  Watching CCS was probably the biggest splash of nostalgia I had all night.  First and foremost, it reminded me of a critical reason why I liked it so much when I was younger.  Magical girl anime or not, Cardcaptors was exciting.  Seeing Sakura capture “The Fly” card was really cool and I was smiling throughout that scene.  But more importantly, seeing the original japanese version made me see other great things about the show that probably didn’t survive the translation.

3) Awesome Action Scenes

(I don’t need to be the one to say this, but Cardcaptor Sakura is cute… REALLY cute.  There’s a VERY good reason why Sakura is in Saimoe, and you’ll understand after you watch the first episode. ) 11 episodes in, and CCS has the seeds to grow into an amazing anime, and potentially my favorite (not just among the favorites).  First off, it’s got great characters.  Sakura really feels like a genuine energetic 10 year old girl.  Tomoyo is the perfect opposite to Sakura: level-headed, mature, and understanding.  Keroberos, doesn’t fit the bill of a standard mascot character… which is a good thing.  He definitely is a great mentor for Sakura.  The rest of the characters follow suit with charming personalities as well as great relationships between the cast.

4) Sakura herself!!!

For aesthetic value, the soundtrack is amazing.  Perfectly suited for the anime, it’s girly, yet not.  The opening song is also really addicting.  I will warn you now… the first time you watch this anime, the opening will be stuck in your head for DAYS. 

My only complaint is that CCS, is slightly formulaic with its monster-of-the-week format; however, it does the formula REALLY well, it’s fine by me.  All that this show needs now is strong serious side and it’ll be essentially perfect, and from what I hear, that’ll come into play later on…. =D Can’t wait.

In the end, my love for CCS can stem from one thing.  I’m completing a childhood memory.  Since I never got the chance to see all the episodes, that part of my early years was left hanging… and now, almost 10 years later… I’ve started to close that memory.  And I’m really excited and happy to do it.

_tekky99

(Man, in the time it took me to write this post, I could’ve easily watched 3 more eps)

Please don’t spoil in the comments, I really want to experience this series for myself

Actions

Information

12 responses

1 05 2009
tacticalmenmaaction

HEY TEKKY IN THE END OF CARD CAPTOR SAKURA SAKURA AND HER BROTHER GET MARRIED AND THEIR INCESTUOUS CHILDREN BREED ENDLESSLY AND TAKE OVER THE WORLD

Teach you to horn in on my shoujo territory +_+

2 05 2009
Kairu Ishimaru

You shouldve told this a long time ago.

2 05 2009
Patches

I have a friend who is writing her thesis on this show. ^^;

2 05 2009
MisterEd

I know the OP is catchy, but the jazzy “Groovy” is my favorite OP/ED ever. More effective and healthier than any anti-depressant.

What I don’t really understand about the CCS -> Cardcaptors disaster is that they had evidence (in the form of the previously-aired Sailor Moon) that straight-up shoujo anime could reach an American audience. I still think that if Nelvana had the courage of their heroine’s convictions, Sakura would have met with a better fate in America.

2 05 2009
tekky99

Menma: … I KNEW IT… I had a sinking suspicion something like that was gonna happen…. =P

Patches: haha nice. I’ve only written one paper on anime, and I don’t think I’ll be doing it again… not because I don’t want to, but rather that my major doesn’t require me to take any more writing classes.

Mister Ed: The thought of Sailor Moon did cross my mind, but the way I see it, Cardcaptors was a gamble at getting a larger audience. While Sailor Moon was popular, the audience for that show (not including hardcore anime fans) was nowhere near as large as the audience for Saturday morning cartoons. I’m guessing Nelvana decided to target this audience when dubbing CCS. Unfortunately, the gamble didn’t pay off

20 05 2009
matt

Reading this article i feel proud that someone took a shine to the series. As i am a fan myself, one thing i will disagree is that i would say it was not all aimed at girls. I am not gay, i am hetrosexual and i really enjoyed the series. My plan when i was younger was to be a backstreet boy (as i could sing and dance) . I would of loved for me to be in the series to be gifted with some sort clow magical power. Im really trying to get the whole series in english. But as it is the way in this world, i can’t seem to find it anywhere! I am also annoyed that they made the second film so badly. I was really upset. I will be writing to the writers in japan to bring the series back cause i believe there is some unanswered questions in the plot. Therefore bringing back the series would be fantastic! Also to have the chance to be in the show would be too good to turn down.
Thank you for well put together report

If you are a cardcaptors fan email me at mattbuzz77@hotmail.co.uk

20 05 2009
matt

Reading this article i feel proud that someone took a shine to the series. As i am a fan myself, one thing i will disagree is that i would say it was not all aimed at girls. I am not gay, i am hetrosexual and i really enjoyed the series. My plan when i was younger was to be a backstreet boy (as i could sing and dance) . I would of loved for me to be in the series to be gifted with some sort clow magical power.

Im really trying to get the whole series in english. But as it is the way in this world, i can’t seem to find it anywhere! I am also annoyed that they made the second film so badly. I was really upset.

I will be writing to the writers in japan to bring the series back cause i believe there is some unanswered questions in the plot. Therefore bringing back the series would be fantastic! Also to have the chance to be in the show would be too good to turn down.

Thank you for well put together report

Kind Regards

Matt B

If you are a cardcaptors fan email me at mattbuzz77@hotmail.co.uk

12 10 2009
Sette

uhg! im so nyappy! i am also addicted to this anime!!! i am falling in love with li, its incredable. I’ve always been into more of the school/falling in love anime and if you like this you will love alice academy!! so please tell me any more anime like this!!! uhg i love it! i watched the first 64 episodes in one day hehehe…

29 07 2010
Juan Manuel

Man, i feel nostalgia too, SCC is a really well done serie.

29 07 2010
Juan Manuel

By the way, someone here knows the name of the song at the chapter 39?
It is when Touya loads Sakura in the back because she has fever. I tried to find the name in the midis section at “www.bysakura.net”, but nothing yet…

31 07 2010
daniel

hey man i loved this show if only som1 would mak a petitiont of some sort n it had alota signatures they might continue it from where it left off

20 09 2013
CardCaptor_Ria

Every word, every SINGLE word sounded like you were writing about my feelings. I watched it as a child and I remember crying after it went off the air years ago. I remembered it suddenly and started watching it again. Thank you for this article.

Leave a Reply

