Anime Reviews: Tsubasa – Tokyo Revelations OVA

11 05 2009

See if this makes sense to you: in order to get out of my withdrawal of CCS (in which there are no more BD raws until June), I decide to pick up Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles again (which I had left of chapter 26).  It’s like I’m fighting an addiction w/ another addiction.  Only difference was that CCS was crazy good, while TRC (for at least the first 100 chapters) was, at best, meh.  A lot of people have probably mentioned that before.. however most of them also are in agreement that the “takeoff point” for this series, is the  Tokyo (or Acid Tokyo) arc.  Tokyo Revelations, is an OVA adaptation (done by Production I.G.) and I’ll be talking about that.

Okay so, I’m sure some of you have heard that the Tokyo arc is dark.  In my opinion, dark isn’t the right word…. try PITCH BLACK.  I was fully expecting really dark and insane developments… and it STILL caught me by surprise.  I don’t think there’s anything that can honestly prepare you for the contents of these 3 episodes.  Well okay, so if you haven’t read the first 100+ chapters or seen the two Bee Train adaptations, then this anime is about as intense as an episode of Pokemon.  The impact of the arc definitely comes from the lead up.

Before I beat around the bush any further, I’ll just say it.  This OVA is good… VERY good.  It managed to be an emotional sledgehammer in the span of 3 episode; something that my favorite anime, ef – a tale of memories, took 12 episodes to do.  Okay, I’m cheating… reading 100+ chapters is akin to watching something on the order of a series and a half of anime… so I had plenty of time to get aquatinted w/the characters.  Even so,  the OVA does a great job in terms of art and music direction.  Yuki Kajiura composes some great and very fitting music for the episodes.  Production quality is very high and the scenes (especially the fight scenes) were very well animated and fluid.

So I know that there are a lot of people who are weary of returning to Tsubasa after the two Bee Train series.  My reply is simple… come back.  I’m not exaggerating when I say that the Tokyo arc changes everything, and it will more than likely make you reconsider your opinion on the series on the whole.

RATING: 10/10

_tekky99

(Ugh, it took me a long time for me to formulate my thoughts for this review)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

