Spring Pilots: Shinkyouku Soukai Polyphonica Crimson S

12 04 2009

This episode was really a mix of good and bad.  And when I say that, I don’t mean there were good and bad elements of the show, I mean most of the elements have good parts and bad parts: characters, animation and production quality, and setting.  While I can’t deny that I’m interested and will probably watch more episodes, the odds of me completing this show is really up in the air.

First off, the characters… and I need to get this out of my system: Corticarte is awesome.  I wouldn’t call her a tsundere just yet, but she’s close.  While she’s harsh towards Phoron, it’s more possessive then affection.  She doesn’t look like the kind of girl who’d get embarrassed easily, and in fact, seems much more headstrong.  Unfortunately, Corticarte was the only real character I liked so far.  Phoron feels a little too whiny for my taste, the Yugiri have “side character” written all over them, and the remaining characters just weren’t that interesting.

The other major issue I noticed was w/ the music itself.  This is probably because of K-ON, but it bugged me to no end when I saw that the music didn’t match the instruments.  I actually had to stifle a laugh when Phoron sang on the stage… it wasn’t even a boy-falsetto voice… it was a girl’s voice… for sure.  The music battle system felt more like an excuse to play music during a battle.

Despite these issues, Polyphonica did capture my attention, primarily due to the interaction between Phoron and Corticarte.  If anything, that might end up being the sole reason why I’ll watch this anime.

FIRST IMPRESSION: 7/10

_tekky99


Actions

Information

Leave a comment